The City of Groesbeck was dedicated as a township by the Houston and Texas Central Railroad in 1869 and was named for Abraham Groesbeeck, One of its directors. Development of a city government began on April 11, 1871, when the town was incorporated by an act of legislature. On April 12, 1871, a post office was established and the name was listed as Groesbeck this name stuck. Groesbeck became the county seat of Limestone County on December 20, 1873.
Located centrally in the area between Houston, Austin and the Dallas/FT. Worth Metroplex, the Groesbeck area has built an economy long based on agriculture which has recently expanded to various mining enterprises and several small manufacturing industries. Because of its central location, Groesbeck offers all of the necessary amenities to a family while providing the security of a small town. In addition the area offers many recreational facilities, such as Ft. Parker State Park and Lake Limestone, which provide relaxation for its citizens and tourist. Additionally its rich history is preserved in the many historical sites in the area. Old Ft. Parker is known to be the site of the kidnapping of Cynthia Ann Parker, who later became the mother of Quanah Parker, the last Comanche chief. The Confederate Reunion Grounds provided the location for many county-wide activities and is preserved today. It is also the home of Limestone County's "Million Dollar Courthouse".